Arabic: المتحف الوطني باردو, El-mathaf El-ouatani Bardo
French: Musée National de Préhistoire et d'Ethnographie du Bardo
The edifice is a former Moorish villa. It was opened as a museum in 1927. Nothing specific is known about this residence, formerly in the countryside and now encompassed in the modern city. H. Klein tells us that the palace was built in the eighteenth century and that it would have been the property of Prince Omar before the French conquest. A document, in the form of a drawing signed by Captain Longuemare, specifies that it was Mustapha ben Omar who was a very rich Tunisian. In 1926, the Bardo Palace was ceded to the Domains by Mrs Frémont, sister and heiress of Pierre Joret.
The museum has 3 parts. The 2 collections appear to change. The first was a collection of sub-Saharan African artifacts followed by an Algerian jewelry collection. The crown jewel of the museum is the 18th century Moorish summer villa, which is fun to explore with various staircases leading to different surprising rooms and views from the windows.
Post a Comment